Wrath of Gods – featuring Gerard Butler

directed by Jon Gustafsson

Time to pick a new DVD cover for the Wrath of Gods DVD

with 126 comments

The first version of Wrath of Gods DVD has sold out. We are about to release a new version. Here are four DVD cover ideas that our designers have been working on. Yes, big surprise… all of the ideas use a picture of Mr. Gerard Butler. I first saw Gerry in Dear Frankie. When played the lead in Beowulf & Grendel he had already made the Phantom of the Opera but it had not been released. The mega hit movie 300 came along a couple of years later and then ps. I Love You, Nim’s Island, RocknRolla and The Ugly Truth. By now Gerard Butler has become a huge star and I’m quite sure that a film like Wrath of Gods will never be made again.

CLICK ON THE PICTURES TO SEE A BIGGER VERSION and tell us what you think and which idea you would like us to pick!

Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #1

Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #1

Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #2

Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #2

Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #3

Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #3

Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #4

Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #4

Written by Jon Gustafsson

March 29, 2009 at 12:57 pm

126 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Jon–Here’s a vote for #1 because it reflects that this is a documentary about the film. The others, while gorgeous, look too much like a cover for Beowulf & Grendal itself.

    Congratulations on the honors Wrath has deservedly earned.

    Diane

    March 29, 2009 at 1:52 pm

  2. Cover #4

    The first one is obscure, the middle two look too much like the film covers themselves and might be confusing but the last one shows it’s Gerry plus indicates the hardship involved.

    Can’t wait for the new one. Too much is never enough!
    Jane

    Jane

    March 29, 2009 at 2:12 pm

  3. #2 It’s a great picture of Gerard.

    birdieG

    March 29, 2009 at 2:31 pm

  4. Wow! I’d have to pick #1 as that makes it look most like a ‘Making of…’ documentary. #2 and #3 look too much like the actual film itself and #4 is too similar to the versions already released with Gerry in the water.

    J

    March 29, 2009 at 2:51 pm

  5. Best movie ever…
    I got here just because I was searching for information about this movie :)

    Sarah G.

    March 29, 2009 at 2:55 pm

  6. Hi Jon…
    Hope you are well…I like cover number 3…but all of them are wonderful. I know this one will sell out just as the first version did, and I cannot wait to get it. I also bought the European version of WOG, so three seems to be the magic number. Good luck, and stay well…

    Tense Smith
    Niceville, Florida

    Tense Smith

    March 29, 2009 at 2:59 pm

  7. Hi jon . I very much like cover idea number three , it’s a stunning photo of beowulf , potraying all the anguish and battles that are to follow . Thank you again for sending me my copy of Wrath of Gods , it’s an incredible documentary to watch ! .

    wendy proctor

    March 29, 2009 at 3:08 pm

  8. Great news about the new version of Wrath of Gods.
    I must say I actually liked the original cover with Gerard Butler in the mud, for me it conveyed the drama of filming the movie.

    Selecting from the new covers, I think I like #4 the best. I also like the “tag line” used on the cover of #3 “A gripping documentary about the madness of movie making”. And maybe that “tag line” could be used on the front cover of whichever one is selected.

    Thanks for asking fans what we think and best wishes for continued success of the DVD.

    Mary

    March 29, 2009 at 3:34 pm

  9. Hi Jon

    Glad to hear Wrath of Gods is doing so well. all the new designs for the cover are great, but I like no.2 in particular.

    sharon

    March 29, 2009 at 3:41 pm

  10. I vote for #4, and #1 would be my second choice.

    Great news that you’ve sold out the first version!!
    Good luck with more sales. Are you working on an other documentary?

    Cheers,
    Sue

    sue wineke

    March 29, 2009 at 3:43 pm

  11. Jon, I have been dying for a copy of the original Wrath of Gods, but never was able to find one. When is the new version going to be released? With Gerard Butler’s new found fame and mega star status, I am sure that his fan following with go after the next installment just as they did the first. I want to be sure I score a copy this time, I caught glimses of it on Youtube and it’s fantastic!!!!

    Thank you for doing an updated version!!! I am very excited!

    By the way, I love cover choice #3. Very intense, Very Gerard!

    Sally

    March 29, 2009 at 4:06 pm

  12. These are all appealing covers, but I think #3 is the best. It shows Gerry with a very thoughtful expression on his face, and to me, Beowulf embodied that characteristic.

    Suzy from Texas1

    March 29, 2009 at 4:09 pm

  13. Hello Jon,

    I am torn between cover #2, which is a beautiful photograph of Gerry, and #4 which is a better example of things that are in your documentary. I will choose #4.

    Ruthie

    Ruth Becker

    March 29, 2009 at 4:29 pm

  14. I choose cover idea #3. Thank you so much for asking our opinions! ceecee

    Ceecee Spring

    March 29, 2009 at 5:07 pm

  15. Jon, I like the idea of a new cover for the new printing of Wrath of Gods. I prefer the use of Beowulf in the sunglasses with Sturla, because it really gives you the idea that this is a documentary, not the B&G film. But the image is too small, and the cover is way too “blue”. Is there any way to blow up the image without losing too much of it off the sides? Otherwise, I suppose I like the last choice, with Beowulf struggling through the water. It shows that making this film wasn’t an easy task. The actors had to go through some sh!t making it. (Although the other images are very nice, indeed…) Thanks for asking for the public’s input.
    P.

    Patti

    March 29, 2009 at 5:56 pm

  16. I would go with #3. I like the tagline. If you’re looking to increase sales you might want to make Gerry’s name more prominent somehow. The picture on #2 is very nice and might produce better sales if you’re going to have in retail locations … but I think the pic and tagline in #3 go better with the title and make for a better cover in general. Number 1 would be my least favorite. There’s too much dead space and the schmancy sunglasses clash with the rest of the art. Good Luck!

    Crystal

    March 29, 2009 at 6:00 pm

  17. Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #2

    Karen Holderman

    March 29, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  18. Wrath of Gods DVD cover idea #3

    Stelios

    March 29, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  19. I like the fourth cover, with Gerry in the water. It shows a bit of the difficulty in making the movie. Too bad I can’t get the new cover, but you, Tony and Martin all signed my DVD cover last year at CUT! 2008, so I’ll never give it up!

    Congratulations on your second printing! I know we’re all looking forward to your next project.

    Rayna

    Rayna Labowitz

    March 29, 2009 at 6:29 pm

  20. I definitely would go with #2. It shows his manliness and sexiness.

    Mary Lou Becker

    March 29, 2009 at 6:35 pm

  21. Jon:

    I like the cover #2. It is a striking photo of Gerry and he is the Beowulf we know and love. #4 looks similar to the first cover and you need on that will get people attention and #2 will do just that.

    Good luck.

    Sheryl

    March 29, 2009 at 6:36 pm

  22. Oh my gosh! Idea #1 is very apropos, but Idea #2 appeals to me the most. By the way, I love, love, love Wrath of Gods. I must watch Gerard’s interviews on a weekly basis. I think you are right. A film like Wrath of Gods will never be made again. Those were the good old days!

    Joan

    March 29, 2009 at 6:41 pm

  23. I like #4.

    Anne

    March 29, 2009 at 6:44 pm

  24. Dear Jon, I really love Idea #2 for the DVD cover.
    Hope you will get enough votes to use it.
    Best Regards,
    Peggy

    Peggy Shumway

    March 29, 2009 at 7:03 pm

  25. Definitely not the first or third idea in my opinion, I think 3 is great. Actually they all are, but I will select 3.

    Thank you for making this movie, my hubby and I enjoy watching it.

    Susan

    Susan Lynn

    March 29, 2009 at 7:04 pm

  26. I’m so pleased that you need to release another version of this fabulous documentary.

    I like number two best as it’s such a beautiful photograph.

    number one is also a favorite since it shows the film actually being made.

    best wishes jane istrate

    jane istrate

    March 29, 2009 at 7:05 pm

  27. I vote for #2

    Genevieve

    March 29, 2009 at 7:05 pm

  28. Ignore previous typo please in previous comment. I do select three and wasn’t too impressed with one or four.

    Susan

    Susan Lynn

    March 29, 2009 at 7:06 pm

  29. # 3 would be the best picture as it depicts the seriousness of the picture. It is a very harsh culture the movie shows and even though the # 2 picture is very good and I like it, its a little to light for the movie.

    amanda cassidy

    March 29, 2009 at 7:23 pm

  30. I think I like #3 as the best of the four….it looks mystical which the movie was

    Camille

    March 29, 2009 at 7:46 pm

  31. Hi Jon,

    I am choosing the first cover! I feel that since it has Gerry as well as Stellan in the photo and since it is about the production and all the hazards and realities of producing an epic film of this magnatude
    in it’s true surroundings, that that photo better represents the true meaning of what the film is about. I am still enjoying my first copy and will buy a new one with the new cover anyway. I love my copy.
    If you still have the one I sent to you for Gerry to sign and he couldn’t, maybe he will sign it now, since the old cover will be more (maybe) valuable at some point!!!

    Miss ya.

    Jo

    Joanna

    March 29, 2009 at 8:05 pm

  32. I prefer covers 1 & 3 because they make it clear that this film is a documentary about the making of a film. The other two, taken at face value, could be mistaken for narrative features.

    Boo

    March 29, 2009 at 8:11 pm

  33. I think #2 or #3, simply because I think it will sell better, with Gerard’s handsome face on it. Perhaps you could have #1 on the reverse side.

    I don’t like #4 at all, for any purpose.

    Good luck to you, Jon, and to Wrath of Gods!

    Judy Ranieri

    March 29, 2009 at 8:39 pm

  34. Are you trying to make this impossible?? LOL

    My fav is #1 cause it looks like a documentary cover and not a feature film cover, plus I like that Sturla and Gerry are featured on it.

    2 + 3 are good but very like the images used for promotion of the film which for some peeps could be confusing

    #4 would be a close 2nd in my choosing mainly because it looks really good

    All are awesome fair play to the designers

    Celine

    Celine McGuire

    March 29, 2009 at 8:41 pm

  35. I like number 3. Although all of them would do very well!

    Sophierose

    March 29, 2009 at 9:25 pm

  36. Hi Jon . Thank you for allowing me to give my opinion on the cover. A great documentary. Well done on its success. I like cover # 3. I know it looks like the Original Movie cover but I think it captures the essence of why this documentary came to be made anyway. Look forward to the new version coming out.

    Marilyn Gautreaux

    March 29, 2009 at 9:25 pm

  37. No. 2 uses one of the most fantastic photos of Gerard Butler ever taken; however, my vote goes to No. 1, which is more on point for a documentary dealing with the entire production, not just its esteemed star.

    Gillian Fey

    March 29, 2009 at 9:26 pm

  38. Hey Jon,

    More Wrath of Gods? Woo Hoo, bring ‘em on!
    My vote goes to #4. Mr. Butler’s face perfectly displays the determination as well as the pain endured by all who worked so hard to complete Beowolf & Grendel. Your documentary continues to sell because it shows how against all odds, art still prevails.
    :)

    titian haired mona

    March 29, 2009 at 9:42 pm

  39. What an honor to be asked our opinion. I’ve always wanted to see Wrath of Gods since watching a bit of it on You Tube, and will definitely buy it now a new version is coming out.

    Although I think #1 is the most appropriate cover, #3 is the most eye catching with the big film title at the top, the dark background, the tag line at the bottom and ofcourse Gerry’s intense eyes. The whole cover works realy well and will fly off the shelves. All the best in your future projects.

    Mrs Gxx

    Yvonne Georgiou

    March 29, 2009 at 9:42 pm

  40. Hi Jon! Congrats on selling out the first release! I would say that cover #1 actually reflects the idea behind your project. Can’t wait for the second release. Thank you from Whiteriver, Arizona

    Naoma

    March 29, 2009 at 9:43 pm

  41. I love picture #2. I think it’s one of the best pictures of Gerry I have ever seen. Since I also loved watching Wrath of Gods, I think they belong together.

    Sue

    March 29, 2009 at 10:01 pm

  42. Great movie! My vote is for #3!

    Cathy

    March 29, 2009 at 10:24 pm

  43. #1 & #3. :)

    Luvi

    March 29, 2009 at 10:31 pm

  44. I like number 2 myself. Can’t beat Mr. Butler’s smile! And it’s a really cute pic!

    Amanda

    March 29, 2009 at 10:33 pm

  45. I like #1 as it represents the making of the film. Since WOG is a documentary about the making of Beowulf and Grendel, this cover tells the best story of what the documentary is about. And it’s rather funny with Gerry in his Beowulf costume wearing reflective sunglasses.

    Diane

    March 29, 2009 at 10:37 pm

  46. I also like #4 with the look of frustration on a soaking wet Gerry Butler. This is also a good representation of what you went through to make the film.

    Diane

    March 29, 2009 at 10:38 pm

  47. Hi Jon!

    I am one of the lucky one who got a first run copy of ‘Wrath of Gods’. It is quite possibly the best documentary I have ever seen. Congratulations on having a second run. My choice is for cover #1, because like others have said before me, it make it clear that this is a documentary. I also love the pic with the crew behind Gerry and Sturla. (Gerry wearing shades is pretty funny).

    Debbi Henson

    March 29, 2009 at 10:45 pm

  48. Hey Jon,

    #3 without question should be the next cover for “Wrath of Gods”..But the award symbol should be moved under “Wrath”!

    Take Care

    Laurie

    Laurie

    March 29, 2009 at 11:17 pm

  49. I believe cover #1 should be used. This is a film about making a movie, and Gerard Butler, while fabulous and beautiful as Beowulf, is not the main attraction of WOG. Showing Gerry and Sturla is appropriate for this wonderful documentary of the making of B&G.

    Lisa

    Lisa

    March 30, 2009 at 12:03 am

  50. Congratulations on the success Jon!! I picked #3 thru process of elimination. Here are my feelings:
    #1. Not powerful enough, this is a strong DVD
    #2. Gerry shouldn’t be smiling for such a strong DVD
    depicting hardship
    #3. Creates much emotion with the furs and DETERMINED
    look on Gerry’s face
    #4. Gerry needs to be standing tall on the cover and his
    expression isn’t determined, it’s almost an “I can’t
    take much more” look

    Diane D.

    March 29, 2009 at 7:40 pm

  51. No. 2 has my vote.

    Kathy

    Kathy

    March 30, 2009 at 1:52 am

  52. Hey Jon! Congrats on the first one selling out! That is awesome and well deserved! :) I vote #1…I agree that it depicts more that WoG is about a film being made as opposed to others strictly showing Gerry’s face. Congrats again!

    Shereine

    March 30, 2009 at 2:01 am

  53. I have to go with #1. WOG, for me, was not just about Gerard. Although his face would bring in the sales, #1 shows the documentary feel of the film. If you are going to go with a “Gerry” pic, i have to say #3 shows more the hardships on the film instead of the “pretty” face.

    Laurie W

    March 30, 2009 at 2:02 am

  54. Jon, while #2 us my favorite picture of Gerry, I think #3 is more intense looking and would reflect the intensity of the film making as well.

    Sara

    Sara

    March 30, 2009 at 2:18 am

  55. Jon, Congratulations on Wrath of Gods II!!!

    I vote for cover idea # 4.

    Lynne

    March 30, 2009 at 2:32 am

  56. I vote for no. 3. The colours and picture look the best and it’s the one I’d be most likely to pick up off a video shelf.

    Sue

    March 30, 2009 at 3:08 am

  57. Definitely #2 is my choice, without a doubt.
    Kathy

    Kathy Dorff

    March 30, 2009 at 3:34 am

  58. Jon,
    You’re killing me! Those pictures on #2 and 3 make my heart stop, but I think for the documentary the picture on #4 with the tagline on the front like #3 would be best. Shows the stress and hardship everyone endured.

    Isabeau

    March 30, 2009 at 3:47 am

  59. Hi Jon,

    I like them all. I began to read some of the comments. I really like 2 & 3 but like a lot of people said it’s so focused around Gerry not the making of “Wrath of Gods” like number 1 does. So as much as I like 2 & 3, I’d have to say my vote is for #1 as it looks appropriate for a documentary.

    I sure hope I can get my hands on the new release!

    Thanks & good luck!

    Sapphyre
    Nashville, TN

    Sapphyre

    March 30, 2009 at 4:11 am

  60. Hi Jon,
    I like #2 & #3 but #3 should have Gerry’s name 1st on the left side. Thanks for letting us give our opinions. Good luck with continuing on this project.

    Sheli

    March 30, 2009 at 4:50 am

  61. Jon, As much as I love the pictures of Gerry in #s 2 & 3, I agree #1 is more indicative of a documentary.

    Good luck with this new release. Even though I have both the American and European copies of the original plus a copy you autographed, I will still add the new one to my collection.

    Texas Gramma

    March 30, 2009 at 5:16 am

  62. I am going to vote for #1 it makes it look more like a documentay then any of the others as good as they all are!

    Joni

    March 30, 2009 at 6:17 am

  63. I would vote for cover idea number 2. I feel it will be more likely to be checked out if a familiar face is on the cover. And of course gerry is pretty well known these days. I know i would pick up the dvd and explore it just ’cause his face is on it. I do really love this documentary it captures a world that will never be experienced this same way again .

    deders333

    March 30, 2009 at 7:02 am

  64. First of all i thought #1, but now i’m thinking #4 as Gerry does look like he’s suffering the ‘Wrath of Gods’
    #2 is one of my favourite photos

    Whichever one is chosen, i’m bound to buy another copy anyway :)

    Well done & thank you again

    Alison Small

    March 30, 2009 at 9:10 am

  65. #3

    Anonymous

    March 30, 2009 at 10:51 am

  66. I vote for #4 this was a documentary depicting the hardships the film experienced. Gerry trudging threw the thick mud – freezing in Iceland his expression is priceless. I enjoyed seeing you Jon at last April’s convention. I’m so glad your documentary is still doing so well. Perhaps you and Gerry will do something together again seeing how he has his own production company (Evil Twins) now.

    MissDebbieBlue

    March 30, 2009 at 12:36 pm

  67. Oh My… It can only be #2! This film was made at the mercy of the Gods — and looking at Gerard, I can’t help but wonder at that deliciously whimsical expression on his face. As if he could have been one of the Gods creating havoc and mischief during filming. Um, think I’ll just go some place quiet and spend a little more time looking at Gerry. You know… to make sure I made the right decision!

    Paula C.

    March 30, 2009 at 12:40 pm

  68. Cover #4 because I love the cover of the original. This one also shows the hardships that went into making the movie.

    Cover #1 is my second choice because it makes it look more like the cover a documentary (which it is!), but I am very distracted by Gerry’s sunglasses.

    Covers #2 and #3 are absolutely gorgeous photos of Gerry, but don’t really reflect the whole theme of the documentary. How about blowing them up into posters and selling them separately! I’m sure you’d sell a bunch! ;-)

    Judy

    March 30, 2009 at 1:50 pm

  69. #1, I agree with the comment Diane left at the start there. Most depicts it is a doc about a film. Do you have other images like #1 but perhaps more of it.. like the one on the website… showing more strife though with both director and actor. Just a thought.

    Best of luck!!

    Looking forward to my copy! I still get one right?! ;}

    S

    Sarah Moffat

    March 30, 2009 at 2:58 pm

  70. #3

    Fan

    March 30, 2009 at 3:15 pm

  71. Hi Jon.

    I choose image #4. The others are good too, but for me, that image of Gerry reflects trial and challenge, which is the theme of your film. Good luck and congrats on the new release!

    Ann

    Ann Luongo

    March 30, 2009 at 3:27 pm

  72. I think cover #1 fits best.
    The other ones are great but look more like movie covers.

    Mary

    March 30, 2009 at 4:07 pm

  73. I would use 3#. Speaking from a Gerry fan POV. That shot I think is the most alluring, although fans would probably purchase anything with his beautiful face on it. The first edition cover was cool because it demonstrates the treachery involved with shooting the movie.

    gina

    March 30, 2009 at 4:54 pm

  74. I like #3.

    Art Citron

    March 30, 2009 at 6:01 pm

  75. Without a doubt #1 a bit of old world and modern
    Gorgeous Gerry of course.

    Belia

    March 30, 2009 at 6:02 pm

  76. I’d take the tagline in #3 and put it in #4, under a harassed-looking Gerry, his expression basically summing up “the madness of movie making.” Plus it kinda fits the “Hilariously funny” comment on the upper right hand corner. Or you could use an even funnier photo, like maybe Gerry and Sturla being blown away by the monstrous Icelandic wind or something. ;D

    nicky

    March 30, 2009 at 6:17 pm

  77. Hi Jon~

    My choice is #3.
    Thanks for putting together the first DVD and now this second one. I am excited to see it.

    Have a great day!

    Lesley

    March 30, 2009 at 6:25 pm

  78. #1 – Beowulf in sunglasses. Classic.

    Gnome

    March 30, 2009 at 6:40 pm

  79. Hi Jon,

    I vote for #4 as the look on Gerry’s face shows the struggle against the wrath of the Gods that the cast and crew went through in the filming of the movie. Thanks for putting together such an outstanding documentary!

    Peggy

    March 30, 2009 at 7:12 pm

  80. #2 – beautiful

    Marylucia Kropelnicki

    March 30, 2009 at 7:36 pm

  81. I would choose #4 and add the tagline on the front. The struggle really shows on Gerry’s face. I have watched the original WOG several times and look forward to your new version. The autographed B&G poster that I got at my first convention hangs next to my computer and I look at it every day … I love this movie and appreciate the difficulties they faced while making it. Thanks Jon for sharing with the fans.

    Barb

    Beejay

    March 30, 2009 at 7:40 pm

  82. #3 for me!

    Best wishes, Jon!

    Teresa Stout

    March 31, 2009 at 2:20 am

  83. Hello Jon!
    I love cover #1 because it shows Sturla directing! Both Gerard and Sturla look great in the picture. But couldn’t you find a picture with Sturla directing both you & Gerry?

    I wish you the best!
    Kathleen

    Kathleen

    March 31, 2009 at 3:04 am

  84. I would vote for #1 because the documentary is about making a movie. #1 is the only one of the photos that really depicts that.

    However, the original cover was great because WOG is specifically about the_difficulties_ involved in movie making, and Butler slogging through the mud was perfect for that (since you can’t really show the guy on the phone trying to get financing…not as sexy)

    #4 doesn’t work_quite_as well as the original because you can’t see the cameras like you can in the original, so it just looks like some guy sitting in the mud. However, someone pointed out the “I can’t take much more” look on his face, and that is exactly what the movie is about, so in that way it works very well. He looks miserable; it’s hilarious. As someone else said, #4 works if you include the tagline about the madness of movie making.

    No on #2 and #3 because WOG is not about how beautiful Gerry is.

    Actually, a photo of Stellan and crew filming in that torrential rain would be good. Or who is that in the little photo on the back cover…the Geat with the camera, is that you, Jon? That would be great.

    I enjoyed WOG very much. It was very interesting, and funny as well. Good job.

    I guess #4 is my final vote. #4!!

    Lisa

    March 31, 2009 at 4:54 am

  85. I think #1 would be a great cover for the documentary. (be sure to have something about it being a documentary on the cover). I actually like all the pictures but #1 seems to be more appropriate for the type of movie it is. Don’t forget to have Sturla’s name on the front, too. I enjoyed this movie a lot, just as I liked Beowulf & Grendel. Glad you were able to do the film; especially love the hour long interview with Gerard Butler…..I’m sure no one will ever get one like that again.

    Carolyn A.

    March 31, 2009 at 6:10 am

  86. I’ve changed my mind. I vote for #1

    Lisa

    March 31, 2009 at 6:12 am

  87. #1 … all are very well done.

    LJ

    March 31, 2009 at 6:39 am

  88. I would prefer #1. It shows best that it’s not a movie a documentary about Gerry but a documentary about the movie they were filming.

    Greetings
    Andrea

    wat208

    March 31, 2009 at 8:00 am

  89. Looks like I will be getting a third copy.

    All the pictures are great, but this is a documentary and frankly stills from the movie shouldn’t be the cover. Your film is an entity on its own. I would go with #1 because it is a photo of behind the scenes. Whats better then the Mighty Beowulf in sunglasses talking with the director. That is what your film was about, everything that happened behind the camera.

    Lisa M

    March 31, 2009 at 1:02 pm

  90. #1 since it conveys a sense that this is a documentary film.

    Have heard outstanding buzz about this movie and have seen snips from the movie. Can’t wait to see the whole thing.

    Catherine

    March 31, 2009 at 2:08 pm

  91. I would go with no. 1 but they are all fabulous.

    allpurposegirl

    March 31, 2009 at 3:48 pm

  92. Number 2. I just love the Wrath Of Gods. Is it the same DVD or will you add something different?

    Cynthia

    March 31, 2009 at 5:40 pm

  93. Hi J,
    The “idea” of picture #1 would have been the best because it’s actually showing behind the scenes, therefore more related to the documentary. However, in my humble opinion, the images are too small. It doesn’t catch your eye like the blue sky which gives a feeling of a nice day. As we know, this is the opposite of what you are portraying. Pictures # 2,3, and 4 are selling the image of the actor or the actual movie itself. Amongst the four pictures shown # 3 has an ominous or foreboding feeling to it, therefore, this one would be my choice. Take care and good look with the new DVD!
    Ryna

    Ryna

    March 31, 2009 at 8:20 pm

  94. Number 2. Best picture for a wonderful superstar.

    soupy from Jersey

    March 31, 2009 at 8:33 pm

  95. My choice is #2. I could stare at Gerry’s face all day! I don’t think he ever takes a bad picture. I enjoyed this movie and have seen clips of the first “Wrath of Gods”. I have always enjoyed seeing behind the scenes of making a movie. Looking forward to this new one since the first DVD sold out. Thanks for redoing it! Can’t wait to buy it.

    Julie

    April 1, 2009 at 11:12 am

  96. While all are great pictures, I like #4 the best. I think it best reflects the hardships involved in shooting Beowulf & Grendel.

    Rosemarie

    April 1, 2009 at 1:55 pm

  97. #3 the perfect Gerry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Dee

    April 1, 2009 at 5:58 pm

  98. I vote for cover #4 because the look is not only professional, but it portrays the intensity of the role and the extreme environmental conditions Gerry and the rest of the cast had to endure throughout the filming of this epic story. They literally went through hell and back to make this movie and I give everyone affiliated with its eventual completion plenty of credit for not giving up when they had every reason in the world to throw in the towel. I already own a copy of it and I have to say it is well worth every minute of it.

    Patricia

    April 1, 2009 at 8:23 pm

  99. I vote for #1 for the same reason most people here said, of the four it looks most like a documentary shot. Btw, I hope you don’t mind but I loaned it to a guy in my office who is interested in Iceland and one or two co-workers who saw the movie. Everyone agreed you made a very good documentary. Best of luck with the new version.

    good luck

    April 1, 2009 at 10:04 pm

  100. I agree that it should be #1 because that looks like a “behind the scenes” photo, not a photo of just the star of the B&G movie.

    Regina

    April 2, 2009 at 1:18 am

  101. Jon, I like #1…. gorgeous shot of Gerry and Sturla.

    Best of luck on the new version and please include more of Gerry (his interview right after he came out of the mud flats would be wonderful!

    Sue

    April 2, 2009 at 1:38 am

  102. I feel that #1 captures the intent of your documentary – I can see your spirit behind it. The others – although I LOVE Gerry – are too Gerry oriented…. did I just say that? Best wishes to you on the success ……….. I mean, continued success.

    Cinderella

    April 2, 2009 at 1:56 am

  103. Hi Jon,

    My pick would be #3. Great representation of Beowulf character. Much depth to Butler’s expression and good representation of time period. Noted Butler not first billing, but that is ok because that is not what you are selling. Also note Polley not listed, that’s ok too! Loved the movie, got to meet Sturla at the special NYC viewing.

    My second pick would be #1…love the photo of Sturla and Gerry together and represents the theme of “movie making.”

    My third pick would be #2…just cause I love that picture of Gerry…his playfulness shows thru, but what has that got to do with a documentary.

    Congrats on selling out making more for distribution.

    Ellen

    Ellen

    April 2, 2009 at 2:11 am

  104. Jon~

    I like #2 or #3 since Gerry is a definitive draw-
    I know it doesn’t look “documentary-ish” but the
    back does and explains all. It was great to finally
    meet you in DC last April- continued success to you.

    ~Donna

    Donna Santaniello

    April 2, 2009 at 2:42 am

  105. Number 2. Wrath of Gods is a wonderful DVD. I enjoy watching it and hope the new DVD sells out too. Best of luck!

    Melodee In FL

    April 2, 2009 at 3:39 am

  106. Dear Jon,
    I agree with Mary above. I love #2 but it needs the tag line about the madness of movie making. If that can be done, #2 is great.

    Thanks for asking for Gerry’s fan opinions. Have you asked Gerry? He always has great ideas. He will probably go with #1. I would because it has Gerry and Sturla considering something about the documentary, but I’m afraid many people would not recognize Gerry with the glasses. His fans will, but others who don’t know him at that time may not. That is my only fear of #1.

    Whichever you choose, it should have the tag line. I think that is a DVD seller line.

    Sandy

    Sandy

    April 2, 2009 at 5:47 am

  107. I will vote for #1 as the cover for the new DVD because I think it reflects a “making of” experience rather than the movie itself. I have the original Wrath of Gods and have watched it and the special features many times. It’s very unique and enjoyable.

    rose

    April 2, 2009 at 2:13 pm

  108. NUMBER ONE!!! People will look twice…(or 100 times)at that one……WHEW!!! It’s an eye catcher for sure……. At this point it’s all about marketing to new fans isn’t it?? Wait until they see your film…blizzards and all … they’ll wonder why sunglasses were actually needed … HAH!!

    donna

    April 2, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  109. I vote for #1, it’s Beo in shades I mean why not??? Plus it looks more like it’s a documentary, the others look like their the movie.

    Nancy

    April 2, 2009 at 6:01 pm

  110. #4

    bailey

    April 2, 2009 at 7:36 pm

  111. I agree w/ the votes for #1…conveys the documentary nature of the piece. I also agree that you should use the tag line from cover #3 regardless of which cover you ultimately use.

    I was a late comer to the DVD world. I have found that I am truly fascinated with the insight we get into the movie making process on the dvd “extras”.

    Janet

    April 3, 2009 at 1:26 am

  112. I definitely like #1. I like the fact you put Sturla on the cover. I look forward to this DVD.

    Sherrell/Bermos

    April 3, 2009 at 6:29 pm

  113. My choice is definately #1. I like the feel of it because Wrath is about the making of a film, and this portrays that perfectly. It incorperates the star and the director, and the movie making process. I own the first version of WoG, but will definately pick up this version as well!!

    ~Bella

    Bella / BellaWolfe

    April 3, 2009 at 7:14 pm

  114. Hi Jon. Congratulations again on the success of W.o.G.

    My vote is definitely for #1, for reasons already stated by others. While the other covers are gorgeous, #1 is a shot from the documentary, features the director as well as the star of the film they were making.

    Good Luck!

    Hobbes

    April 3, 2009 at 8:02 pm

  115. Hi Jon!
    I couldn’t be happier that you are releasing a new version of “Wrath of Gods”. I was very unlucky with the first one, having to exchange it 3 times and finally getting a refund because I could not play it on any DVD player or computer. I’m dying to see it.
    I hope I’m luckier with this version.
    My favorite cover is #3, but #1 is more representative of what the movie is about so I’d have to go with #1.
    Thank you for involving the fans in this decision.

    Chantal

    April 3, 2009 at 8:02 pm

  116. I’ll break the tie. Use #4. It looks more “wrathful.”

    Diane

    April 4, 2009 at 2:30 am

  117. I think cover #4 with number 3 tag line only in larger print so it is clearly a documentary about film making. I loved the first one and can’t wait for this one. Will you be showing it around again? I was able to see your presentation at StonyBrook College NY and would go again as it was wonderful.

    Gershwin9

    April 4, 2009 at 3:56 pm

  118. Number ONE! It passes the test for a concept photo, showing the real people behind the movie.

    stevie

    April 4, 2009 at 8:10 pm

  119. Cover#4

    I think it embodies what the title and the documentary is about perfectly.

    Veronica

    April 4, 2009 at 8:30 pm

  120. Cover #1 would be my recommendation as it endorses the hard work and efforts of ALL the cast and crew to bring about this story. Whilst it works well with the documentary title, it differentiates markedly from the DVD of the movie, bringing attention back to the endeavours of all involved as well as utilising Gerry’s natural marketable pulling power. TTFn Suzi xx

    Suzi

    April 6, 2009 at 12:06 am

  121. Hello Jon,

    I like #3 because Gerard looks more serious than in #2. I also like the design of the cover better with the prominence of the cast member names and the dark background. If I was going to pick up this DVD, I’d be more drawn to #3 because Gerard is featured. #1, although it portrays the actual behind the camera scenes, wouldn’t make me want to watch it.

    Darken

    April 7, 2009 at 7:13 am

  122. I vote for #3

    Linda M

    April 8, 2009 at 6:46 am

  123. #3 ~ Definitely! Shows us the best view of Gerry’s amazing face.

    Lise

    April 8, 2009 at 1:58 pm

  124. Jon,

    If the idea is to get the “money shot”, then go with #3. It has the best marketing appeal. And not to mention it’s layout looks great!

    Angie S.

    April 10, 2009 at 12:40 am

  125. #1 pants — erm, hands down. (While you’re redoing things, y’all can leave that pesky “black box” off the U.S. Version, too. I’m just sayin…)

    Holly aka Spot

    April 29, 2009 at 2:09 am

  126. I prefer #1. The documentary of the making of Beowulf and Grendel needs a cover that reflects the theme of the film. This is a behind the scenes documentary and therefore, the cover of the cast and members of the film crew lends itself to the theme of the film. Let’s face it, people can and do judge a movie or book by its cover all the time. Being someone who is interested in how films are made and how obstacles are overcome, I would rent or buy this disc based on the cover. Kind of shallow, but there you have it.

    Cecilia Bridges

    October 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

